It was Rangers Player of the Year Awards last night as the club began to reflect on the last season at Ibrox.

There’s been plenty of highs, plenty of lows, and Rangers will ultimately end the year empty-handed. But there can be no doubts we’ve come on leaps and bounds this season and are in the best nick we’ve been in for years.

Alfredo Morelos picked up three awards at the awards presentation. (Photo by Ian MacNicol/Getty Images)

You only need to look at our commanding performance at Fir Park yesterday as an example. It’s now about finding consistency.

And such has been our progress, this was always going to be an important awards show, so here’s a run-down of who picked up what at this year’s Rangers Player of the Year Awards.

Women’s Player of the Year – Amy Muir

The first ever winner of the Rangers Women’s Player of the Year Award is Scotland U19s international midfielder, Amy Muir. She described receiving the award as “a massive moment”.

Academy Player of the Year – Josh McPake

The young Rangers attacking midfielder has put in some creative displays in reserve football and is edging closer to the first team. This award will have done the 17-year-old’s chances of doing just that no harm.

Top Goalscorer – Alfredo Morelos

His 29 goals this season have fired Rangers into Europe and beyond. He’ll also be the first Rangers player since Kris Boyd in the mid-2000s. The Colombian is lethal and only getting better.


Young Player of the Year Award – Ryan Kent

Ryan Kent is a hero to the Rangers fans and thoroughly deserves to be recognised for his performances this year. But can the club keep the Liverpool loanee at Ibrox for at least a little longer? Rangers are certainly interested.

Goal of the Season Award – Ryan Jack

No prizes for guessing what goal this was. Ryan Jack’s first ever goal for Rangers was a pretty special one and proved to be the only strike in a 1-0 win over Celtic in December.

John Greig Achievement Award – Allan McGregor

This special award is selected by the Rangers legend himself and awards commitment, hunger and desire wearing the badge. Is there any other choice but McGregor?

Players’ Player of the Year Award – Alfredo Morelos

This shows you just how much the Rangers team value for Alfredo Morelos’ contribution to the club. It must surely wake him up to how his indiscipline is costing them on the pitch too. It’ll mean a lot to Alfredo.

Player of the Year Award – Alfredo Morelos

Thinking about this logically, there was only going to be one choice. The thing is, it could’ve been an even more glaring one if disciplinary problems hadn’t blotched his report card. A true South American talent, Rangers are grateful to have him, but will he be around next season?

Have something to tell us about this article?