Rangers invite fans to take part in special end of season event
Photo by Alex Livesey/Getty Images

Rangers fans invited to vote in Ibrox Player of the Year awards

Voting is now open for the Rangers end of season and Player of the Year awards after the 19/20 season ended abruptly [Rangers].

With the Rangers side appearing to crash after Christmas domestically, it’s not a campaign Gers fans will look back on with too much fondness.

But incredible performances in Europe and a truly magnificent first half of the season cannot be understated as Steven Gerrard’s side looked every bit the part for a portion of the campaign.

Rangers fans are being invited to vote on this season’s Player of the Year awards. (Photo by Mark Runnacles/Getty Images)

Now, the club is asking supporters to take part in the annual Player of the Year voting as part of the yearly awards show.

There are six awards up for grabs with any player who played more than 15 games eligible for the Player of the Year award.

The stand-out performers from the last campaign include rejuvenated Croatian full-back Borna Barisic, dominant and tidy midfielder Ryan Jack and of course, striker Alfredo Morelos.

Whilst almost every player fell off a cliff following the winter break, there is a case to be made for a few others too as Rangers fell short in Scotland.

The Young Player of the Year award will be hotly contested with Niko Katic, Ryan Kent, George Edmundson, Ianis Hagi and Joe Aribo the nominees for this season’s award.

MyGers members are also being invited to exclusively vote on the Goal of the Season, including Morelos v Porto, Kent v Celtic and Aribo v Braga.

Joe Aribo’s mazy run against Braga is included amongst the Rangers Player of the Season Awards category. (Photo by Ian MacNicol/Getty Images)

In addition to those awards, the Academy Player of the Year, Women’s Player of the Year and Top Goalscorer awards will also be presented.

Traditionally a glitzy affair in Glasgow city centre, such are the conditions of the coronavirus lockdown it remains unclear how the awards will be presented.

LOGIN to Comment
LOGIN to Comment