Slim pickings as £12m+ ex-Gers star named on prestigious shortlist alongside 'Ibrox target'
Photo by Robbie Jay Barratt - AMA/Getty Images

Ex-Rangers star included on prestigious shortlist despite leaving Ibrox

Ex-Rangers star Nathan Patterson has been named on the shortlist for the Scottish Football Writers’ Association Young Player of the Year – despite playing only 11 games for the Gers this season.

The Scotland international full-back, 20, moved to Premier League Everton in January for a club record £12m rising to £16m deal [Sky Sports].

Photo by Marcio Machado/Eurasia Sport Images/Getty Images

Since then the youngster has struggled to break into the Toffees’ side despite their relegation struggles in the English top flight.

But that hasn’t stopped him being named on a shortlist which is undoubtedly slim pickings this season in particular.

These include Celtic centre-back Stephen Welsh, a bit-part player in Ange Postecoglou’s team this season, and Calvin Ramsey of Aberdeen and Josh Doig of Hibs, two sides who both finished in the bottom six.

Dundee United centre-back Ross Graham – linked with a move to Rangers – completes the shortlist but it’s telling there are several who might count themselves lucky to be on it.

It really will be interesting to see who takes it, with Aberdeen youngster Calvin Ramsay probably the favourite amid a series of high profile links to the Premier League.

Nathan Patterson on SFWA award shortlist despite leaving Rangers

Rangers fans might also be asking why the likes of standout Ibrox youngster Calvin Bassey are not included on the SFWA’s shortlist.

This is because only Scottish youngsters can be considered for the award, which looks at the best young player in the country.

Because Calvin Bassey – who won the Ibrox club’s Young Player of the Year award this weekend – is an Italian-born Nigerian international he cannot be considered.

Interestingly, there has only ever been one non-Scottish winner of the award; future Rangers but then Dundee defender Zurab Khizanishvilli won the award in 2003 before rules changed to make it Scottish only.

Photo by Alex Livesey/Getty Images

Nathan Patterson is also considered for his time at Rangers – which explains why Bologna teenager Aaron Hickey isn’t on the list – because it is a domestic award.

Hibs full-back Josh Doig is the current holder of the award and ex-Celtic star Kieran Tierney holds the record for most times winner (3).

Meanwhile, Rangers have gotten Europa League backing from an unlikely Premiership rival.

LOGIN to Comment
LOGIN to Comment