Rangers’ best winning streak under Steven Gerrard came to an end on the final day of the season.
Ahead of the game, the fans raised some questions about the starting XI, which featured five changes. Steven Davis and James Tavernier were absent through injury and both Nikola Katic and Scott Arfield away on holiday.
The absence of such key players was readily apparent, too.
Although the likes of Daniel Candeias and Ryan Kent went close in the first half, the Gers never really got going.
Despite that, Alfredo Morelos’ 30th goal of the season looked to have earned the visitors a point.
In the closing stages, though, a controversial decision ensured they left with nothing.
Stephen O’Donnell went down in the box after an alleged shirt tug in the area. Referee, Willie Collum, who was taking charge of his first Gers match in six months, promptly pointed to the spot.
Killie’s top scorer, Eamonn Brophy then tucked away the penalty, securing a Europa League spot for the home side.
However, plenty of Rangers fans weren’t happy with the call.
Collum was always going to be under the microscope after events earlier in the season. Back in November, Rangers released a statement criticising the 40-year-old after he inexplicably sent off Daniel Candeias away at St Mirren.
With that incident no doubt still fresh in the minds of supporters, he provoked fury by handing Killie a chance to win the game, having earlier waving away appeals from Rangers when Connor Goldson went down in similar circumstances.
Here’s a selection of reactions:
Collum makes a last minute attempt to mask the Rangers/SFA conspiracy with a freebie penalty to Killie.
— Rangers: Earth’s Mightiest Heroes (@RangersAssemble) May 19, 2019
Utterly laughable from Collum, just a ridiculous decision…
— Scott (@King1Scott) May 19, 2019
Wasn’t a penalty
— coleen watson (@coleenwatson13) May 19, 2019
— Sheree Davison (@ShereeDavison) May 19, 2019
Wasn’t a penalty they’ve went down at every opportunity looking for decisions
— Gary Tippell (@GaryTippell) May 19, 2019
How is that a pen and the one on Goldson earlier isn't it's the exact same incident
— Callum Rankin (@CallumRankin2) May 19, 2019
If that’s Morelos he gets booked for diving 100%
— Adam Stead (@adam_stead9) May 19, 2019
Never a pen
— James (@JamesAndrew1996) May 19, 2019
Kilmarnock needed to cheat to win. Let’s see if Clarke has anything to say about it or is it alright when it’s his team getting a nothing penalty.
— kyle (@ThatJewishGuy_) May 19, 2019