Ryan Kent might’ve won the Scottish PFA Young Player of the Year Award, but he didn’t even make the shortlist for the Football Writer’s (FW’s) equivalent.
It might sound strange that a player who was voted amongst his peers as the best young talent in the land should escape the gaze of the country’s esteemed football writers.
But all is not as it immediately appears. Ryan Kent may well have been shortlisted had it not been for this little rule.

Ryan Kent has admitted it “would be nice” if he could stay at Rangers next season [Daily Record]. (Photo by Ian MacNicol/Getty Images
Only players eligible to play for Scotland can collect the award. The SFWA is very clear about that on their webpage.

The note reads “The Young Player of the Year award was introduced in 2004 and is only open to players who are eligible to play for Scotland.”
So, given Liverpool loanee Kent is from Oldham and would represent England, it means he can’t pick up the FW’s award.
Whilst it’s perhaps to encourage young Scottish talent, it does exclude a range of young players from across the league.

But it’s the football writer’s decision so good luck to them. And good luck to the four players included on this year’s shortlist.
Aberdeen’s Lewis Ferguson, Rangers bound Jake Hastie, Kilmarnock’s Greg Taylor and Motherwell star David Turnbull (who is rumoured to be interesting Rangers) are the names in consideration for this year’s award.

Related Topics

Have something to tell us about this article?
Let us know